Woo York

Samum EP

Release: 28.04.2023


A1 Woo York – Samum
A2 Woo York – Prophet
B1 Woo York – Samum (8Kays Remix)
B2 Woo York – Prophet (Echonomist Remix)



Woo York – supreme electronic music duo make their debut on Watergate Records.

The Ukrainian duo have a watertight reputation for crafting stunning dancefloor compositions, having released music on Life And Death, Soma, Dystopian, Drumcode and Afterlife, the latter home to their critically acclaimed 2018 album ‘Chasing the Dream’. Their appearances at Watergate have been numerous over the years, making them an obvious choice to join the label family.

Their Watergate Records debut maiden offering is sparkling. The title track begins as a chugging key-laden cut before a stirring folky melody rises to the fore with beautiful intent. With its unique sonic signature, ‘Samum’ will stand out in any set. Woo York show a new side of their outstanding musical talent “For this release we wanted to push boundaries of the melodic techno sound. For Samum we have worked with a bag pipe, one of the oldest instruments to give the track an almost „housy” note.”

The accompanier is ‘Prophet’, an emotional slice of dance music, hopeful and melancholic in equal doses, this is custom made for big dancefloor moments.

Accompanying the package are remixes of ‘Samum’ by fellow Ukrainian producer and live act 8Kays, who turns in a dark and shimmering re-rub, not losing any of the original’s power. Meanwhile Greek artist Echonomist crafts a rich and multi-faceted reinterpretation that fits for the club and home listening alike.

Woo York Samum EP